Jackson Award Committee

Committee Members: B. H. Blake (Chair), M. E. Hopton, D. M. (Chip) Leslie, Jr., T. J. (Mac) McIntyre, S. B. McLaren.

Mission:

The Jackson Award, established in 1977 by the American Society of Mammalogists, is charged with nominating a candidate for the H. H. T. Jackson Award, which recognizes individuals with a long and outstanding record of service to Mammalogy and the American Society of Mammalogists. To do so, the committee solicits recommendations, and evaluates candidates based on a letter of nomination, letters of support, and curriculum vitae. Ultimately, the Board of Directors votes on the Committee's nomination, and the award is presented formally at the Annual Banquet of the Society.

Information Items:

(1) The Committee did not receive any Letters of Nomination from members of the Society.

(2) The Committee had previously prepared a short list of potential nominees in case there were no nominations from the membership, and when we did not receive any we selected our first choice from the list as the nominee. The committee prepared the nomination packet, which was sent to the President to be voted on by the Board of Directors; the formal presentation of the recipient of the Jackson Award will be made at the banquet.

(3) In 2013, the Committee nominated C. William Kilpatrick, Professor of Biology at University of Vermont, to receive the award.

(4) The Committee updated the webpage on the ASM website, adding information about the 2013 Award Recipient and adding biographical information on Hartley H. T. Jackson, the award namesake.

Action Items:

(1) \$300 is requested for the award plaque.

Respectively submitted: Barbara H. Blake, Chair (bhblake@uncg.edu)